Bridport Primary School is an academy within the Minerva Learning Trust (MLT). The overarching governance of the school is therefore the Trust Board of the MLT. Our school does have its Local Governing Body (LGB), which is charged with working with the Headteacher to ensure our school performs well in all aspects of school life, and that we retain the distinctive characteristics that define our school.
We bring a wide range of skills and experience to the role, ensuring a balance of business, financial, educational and life skills to support us in making decisions regarding our core functions.

Our core functions are as follows:

Establishing the strategic direction, by working with the school’s leadership team to set the vision, values, and objectives for the school and agreeing the school improvement strategy.

Ensuring accountability by monitoring progress towards targets, engaging with stakeholders and contributing to school self-evaluation. We hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils, and staff. We professionally challenge and support the headteacher in fulfilling her duties.

Supporting the Minerva Learning Trust in ensuring financial security, The LGB and Headteacher agree school development strategies that determine budget allocation. The Headteacher, LGB and Trust Board monitor the budget through the year. We aim to ensure that value for money is obtained and that risks are managed.

We hold several Local Governing Board meetings a year. Each governor works within one strand of school activity. These strands mirror the key School Improvement activities for the year. The School Leadership Team works with the governors allowing us to ask questions, monitor progress, challenge performance and support all staff and children to improve learning and teaching.

    Term of Office
Expiry under MLT
Parent Governors James Hatch June 2025 Elected by Parents
  Anna Reeve November 2025 Elected Unopposed
Headteacher Michaela Kite   Ex Officio
Assistant Headteacher Flo LeGassick September 2022 Elected by Staff
Co-opted Governors Sarah Fletcher May 2022 Co-opted by LGB
  Mike Young – Chair May 2022 Co-opted by LGB
  James Ailward July 2023 Co-opted by LGB
  Julia Whiting June 2023 Co-opted by LGB
  Justin Walton July 2021 Co-opted by LGB
Clerk to Governors Kate Rigby    


© Bridport Primary School 2021
Photos Copyright: Sam Rose Photography

Website Design: IC Computing

Like most websites, this site uses cookies for us to analyse site usage and improve the user experience.
You can read more about this on our Site Terms & Conditions